Alex Fleury Earns Mass. Gatorade Player Of The Year Honors

Fleury's 4:05 Mile at BU Last Chance

2020 Indoor Rankings

Phillips Academy senior Alex Fleury has been awarded Massachusetts Gatorade Track & Field Player of the Year for the 2020 season.  

Fleury was the Massachusett's state leader in the 800m at 1:53.57, 1000m at 2:27.16 and Mile at 4:05.57.  His mark in the 1000m was also good for US#1 while his mile was good for US#2 this indoor season.

"The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Fleury as Massachusetts's best high school boys track & field athlete."

Though there was no outdoor season, Fleury proved his was in tremendous form over the indoor season and was certainly going to have a career year on the outdoor track.  

He'll continue his career at Harvard under distance coach Alex Gibby.

Press Release

All-Time Massachusetts Gatorade PoY Winners

1985-1986 - Bill Crowley, Seekonk, Distance
1986-1987 - Greg Duffy, Reading Memorial, High Jump/Sprints
1987-1988 - Jamalh Prince, Cambridge Rindge & Latin, Distnace
1988-1989 - Calvin Davis, Dorchester, Hurdles
1989-1990 - Brian Kelley, Bishop Feehan, Multis
1990-1991 - Andy Downin, Duxbury, Distance
1991-1992 - Chad Kopp, St. Johns, High Jump
1992-1993 - Jesse Cody, Cambridge Rindge & Latin, Distance
1993-1994 - Mike Ballard, Franklin, Sprints
1994-1995 -Jan Stevens, Gardner, Sprints
1995-1996 - Darren Dinneen, Phillips Academy, Middle Distance
1996-1997 - Jonathan Riley, Brookline, Distance
1997-1998 - Andy Powell, Oliver Ames, Middle Distance
1998-1999 - Andy Powell, Oliver Ames, Distance
1999-2000 - Jeff Chakouian, Seekonk, Throws
2000-2001 - Said Ahmed, English, Distance, Relays
2001-2002- Christopher Bonner, Xaverian Brothers, Sprints, High Jump, Long Jump
2002-2003 - Victor Gras, Belmont, Distance
2003-2004 - Victor Gras, Belmont, Distance
2004-2005 - Chris Barnicle, Newton North, Distance
2005-2006 - Mark Amirault, Xaverian Brothers, Distance
2006-2007 - Mark Amirault, Xaverian Brothers, Distance
2007-2008 - Omar Aden, Charlestown, Distance
2008-2009 - Mark Vetere, Andover, Pole Vault
2009-2010 - Sam Bombaugh, Falmouth, Throws
2010-2011 - Josh Lampron, Mansfield, Middle Distance
2011-2012 - Josh Lampron, Mansfield, Middle Distance
2012-2013 - Josh Lampron, Mansfield, Middle Distance
2013-2014 - Garrett O'Toole, Middlesex School, Distance
2014-2015 - Sean Caveney, Andover, Hurdles
2015-2016 - Thomas Ratcliffe, Concord-Carlisle, Distance
2016-2017 - Erick Duffy, North Andover, Pole Vault/Hurdles
2017-2018 - Sam Welsh, Concord Academy, Throws
2018-2019 - Ryan Oosting, Arlington, Distance
2019-2020 - Alex Fleury, Phillips Academy, Middle Distance