10/22 Weekend Recap: Quabbin,Twilight, and Wachusett


Bob McIntyre MSTCA Twilight




  • It looked as if Brookline had the varsity boys race well under control after two miles and would cruise to another victory, but Bishop Feehan would put up an amazing fight over the last 1000 meters and both teams would end the race with 35 points.  The tie breaker was Bishop Feehan's 6th man Alex Conway who finished 16th in the team scoring (20th overall) and was 9 scoring points ahead of Brookline's 6th man.  

  • Chernet Sisay of Brookline won the varsity boys race and was the only competitor to run under 16 minutes.  Sisay broke away from the front pack in the third loop and was charging so hard on the last uphill that the pace cart had to pull over and let him pass.  Teammate Mark Perry finished second in 16:01.94, and Henry Dodge of Bishop Feehan was third in 16:04.76. 

  • The Bishop Feehan girls put their entire scoring team in the top 21 and won a decisive victory with 38 points.  Newton South was second (84 points) and Dennis-Yarmouth was third (130 points).  Feehan posted a 19:17 average for a total team time of 96:27; over 2 minutes faster than any other team in the race.

  • Jordan O'Dea took the lead before the mile mark, splitting 5:21, and never looked back.  The Dennis-Yarmouth junior cruised to a nearly 30 second win in 18:16, and looked very comfortable in the process.  Olivia Brackett of Weston was second (18:43), and Katie Powell of Bishop Feehan was third (18:46).

  • Owen Gonser of King Philip destroyed the field in the sophomore boys race.  Gonser ran alone for the majority of the race but still posted a finishing time of 16:16.  To put the performance in perspective, he would have finished 5th in the varsity race with that time.  

  • Jessica Cardin of Sutton took on a very good field of sophomore girls and walked away with the victory in 19:49.  Arianna Maida of Bishop Fenwick was second (19:56), and Zoe Snow of Weston was third (20:09).

  • Shelby Aarden of Hopkinton made a move early in the 4000 meter freshman girls race and opened up a massive gap on the field.  Aarden's cruised to the victory in a time of 12:28; almost 30 seconds ahead of second place.



Wachusett Invitational





  • Varsity A - Jeremy and Collin Bennie of Wachusett go 1-2, separated by only one second (16:25 and 16:25 respectively) but it is St. John's who took the next three spots in a very controlled pack to capture the team title.  Jonathan Green led the group in 3rd place (16:49), and was followed by teammates Joseph Clark in 4th (16:50), and Connor Lucey in 5th (16:54).  St. John's amassed 33 total points; 18 points ahead of second place Wachusett.

  • Varsity B - Brendan Robertson won his race with the only sub 17 minute time in the field (16:59).  His Westborough team finished second (47 points) behind Concord-Carlisle (33 points) who put all five scoring runners in the top 12.

  • Varsity C - Hopedale dominated the race behind Paul Maurias winning time of 17:10.  The Blue Raiders took the top 5 spots to finish with a perfect score of 15.  Parker Charter was second with 52 points and Gardner was third with 97 points. 




Quabbin Invitational





  • Wachusett earns their second consecutive invitational win, this time with a near perfect score of 20 points.  Colleen Sands led the group with a winning time of 18:29 on the 2.92 mile course at Quabbin High School.  Teammate Amy Collins was second (18:54), followed by Steffany Halfrey of Quabbin (18:54), Liz Reynolds of Wachusett (19:18), and Chapel Guarnieri of North Middlesex (19:23). Host school Quabbin finished third with 98 points, just four points away from second place Westborough.

  • Anna and Renee Capps scorched another course, finishing 1-2 in 18:03 and 18:17 respectively.  The duo led their team to a 22 point win over Notre Dame Academy Worcester who finished second with 68 points.  Murdock was third with 85 points.

  • The performance of the day was arguably Gianna Mastrometteo's 3rd place finish in the Division 2 race.  Mastrometteo is just a 7th grader at St. Peter-Marian and posted the third fastest time of the day across all divisions of 18:19.